Tigers sweep OHC cross country meet


CEDARVILLE – The West Liberty Salem girls cross country team won its third consecutive Ohio Heritage Conference title and 23rd conference title in the program’s history on Saturday. The Big Orange, currently ranked 19th in the OATCCC D3 state poll, placed first with 28 points.

Mechanicsburg was third with 88 points and Triad was fourth with 90.

For WL-S, freshman Grace Adams earned OHC MVP honors by placing first in 19:28. Also earning first team All-OHC honors were Reghan Bieleski 2nd place, (19:34) and Lydia Moell 5th (21:46). Other WL-S placers were Payton Umphries 9th (21:59), Kiana Reames 11th (22:17), Jenna Magnuson 17th (23:00), Sarah Painter 22nd (24:05.1), Julie Parker 23rd (24:05.2), Savannah Weaver 24th (24:16), Anna Louden 29th (24:34), Tory Pawelko 34th (25:21), Taylor Henault 43rd (26:37), and Mikaela Holdridge 44th (26:45).

Umphries and Reames received second team OHC honors, and Magnuson received honorable mention honors.

“With six full teams this year, this is the most competitive the conference has been since its inception,” said WL-S Coach Ann Vogel. “We ran well, but I think the girls know we need to improve our level of competitiveness in the upcoming weeks. Grace and Reghan are doing an outstanding job for us up front, and working on packing in our three through seven runners will become even more important in the postseason.”

The Tiger boys won their eighth straight OHC title and the program’s 28th overall on Saturday.

“Winning our eighth straight conference title is something that we take great pride in and something that we’re very appreciative of,” said WL-S Coach Mike Louden. “In fact, for our program to be in this position year after year says a lot about the quality of young men that have represented this great program year after year. I’ve been privileged to have coached some great student-athletes and this group is no different. It’s also pleasing to know that this senior class has won every conference title they’ve competed in going all the way back to junior high.

Nick Williams won the meet in 16:54.7 and was named OHC Runner of the Year.

Also placing for the Tigers were Noah Smith, 17:30.9 3rd (CPR) 1st Team All OHC; Michael Conley 18:11.2 4th 1st Team All OHC; Cade Clerico 18:25.0 6th 1st Team All OHC; Charlie Williams 18:43.7 10th 2nd Team All OHC; Isaac Smith 19:09.7 14th 2nd Team All OHC; Bryan Woods 19:27.7 15th Honorable Mention All OHC; Caleb Siegenthaler 20:36.1 31st; Zavier Esch 22:15.7 44th; Matthew Loffing 22:45.6 48th.

No other results were reported.

The Tigers will compete at the D-III Southwest District meet on Saturday at Cedarville University.

JH cross country

The WL-S girls won the OHC meet. Katelyn Stapleton was first in a course record time of 11:27, Megan Adams was second in 11:56, Madison Bahan was third in 13:02, Hallie Smith was fourth in 13:34 and Mandilyn Weaver was fifth in 13:56.

The Tiger boys placed third. Dylan Lauck was 4th in a time of 11:32.

Staff report

No posts to display