Klingelhofer late model winner at Shady Bowl


DeGRAFF – Shady Bowl Speedway put on a great night of racing for local fans Saturday night. Six classes of stock cars were featured. It was double points night, turning up the competition as drivers sought to make a big jump in the point standings. The late model main got off to a rough start as a lap one crash was triggered when pole setter Mike Ward and Jesse Gade made contact coming out of turn two. The ensuing melee took out the cars of Russ Bobb and Jesse Gade and sent Ross Klingelhofer to the pits. Klingelhofer was able to restart after the trip to the pits for repairs. On the restart Ward jumped out front and led the first three laps. Fast qualifier Buddy Townsend then took over the lead. Townsend led until lap 11 when the engine began to sputter in his car. Klingelhofer was able to take the lead at that point and led the rest of the way to post his first win of the season. The Quincy driver is sponsored by C&M Service Center. Ward was second, with Dan Reeser third, Paul Hazlett fourth and Townsend fifth. Bobb was the dash winner, with Gade taking the heat win.

The modified main saw Chris Prater jump out front from his pole position starting spot. Prater was running strong and led until the halfway point. Mike Carroll then sped by to take the lead. Carroll’s time out front was short however as Chad Poole overtook Carroll on lap 18. Poole opened up a lead over Carroll as the laps wound down. It was not to be however as Poole went up in smoke with six laps to go. Carroll retook the lead on the restart in his KEG Race Cars backed racer and went on to notch the win. The Kettering driver was chased across the start finish line by Jerry Stapleton, Brad Yelton, Chris Parker and Joe Pequignot. The fast qualifier was Logan McPherson, with Pequignot winning the dash. Brian Brandyberry and Chris Parker were heat winners.

The street stock feature was a rough event with a crazy final lap. Columbus driver Mike Litchfield led the first 10 laps before giving way to Rodney Roush. The pair put on a great show as they battled for the lead. Roush looked like a sure winner 100 yards from the checkered until he and Litchfield made contact. The contact put both drivers to the rear of the field as the checkereds flew. Shawn Stansell was declared the winner in his Replacement Auto Parts Camaro. The Kettering driver was followed across the finish line by dash winner Dave Sage, Buck Purtee, Jacob Heckman and Chad Small II. Mike South Jr. and Greg Winget were heat winners.

Larry Adams of East Liberty put his Neon in victory lane once again in the compact division. The win was the fourth of the season for Adams in his C&F Fabrication backed ride. Ray Smith, Damion Kellen, Joel Nease and Josh Foltz were second through fifth. Adams swept the class as he was also fast qualifier and won the dash. Smith carried the checkered for the heat race.

Matt Jackson of New Carlisle put his Hanger 18 backed tuner in victory lane, as he won his third feature of the season. The remainder of the top five were Gary Eaton Jr., Ron Masters, Eddie Kemp and Nicholas Philbeck. Eaton and Kemp were heat winners.

Josh Foltz picked up his second feature win of the season as he claimed the top spot in his Decker Trucking pure stock. Fast qualifier Rob Bryant was second, with Jason Purtee third, Jeff Binkley fourth and Nicholas Meade fifth. Foltz was the dash winner with Lane Crabtree taking the heat win.

This Saturday Shady Bowl will play host to the Vores Touring Compact Series. Shady Bowl driver Ron Master is the defending champion for the group with Gary Eaton Jr. a past champion. The late models, street stocks and pure stocks will also be on the schedule. Racing is set to start at 7 p.m.

Submitted story

No posts to display