Urbana’s Mike Ward wins at Shady Bowl

DeGRAFF – Shady Bowl Speedway cheated the local weather forecasters who were predicting rain to get in its second night of racing this season on Saturday. Shady Bowl hosted six divisions of stock cars.

The late model main event saw Columbus driver Buddy Townsend jump out front at the drop of the green and lead the first seven laps. Urbana driver and fast qualifier Mike Ward then took over. Ward, in his Dave’s Auto and Truck Body backed racer, went unchallenged to post the win in the 35-lap event. The win was the first in 10 years for Ward at Shady Bowl. Dash winner Ross Klingelhofer was second, with Caleb Reschar third, Dave Gertsner fourth and Townsend fifth.

In modified racing, Brad Yelton led the first 20 counters before Springfield’s Chad Poole powered past. Poole, in his Finley Recycling backed racer, led the final 10 laps to post the victory. Logan McPherson, fast qualifier Greg Stapleton, Yelton and Jerry Stapleton rounded out the top five. Poole notched the dash win, with Jerry Stapleton taking the heat win.

The street stocks were paced by Mike South for the first three circuits. Past track champion Rodney Roush of Sidney then took over the helm in his Winget Race Cars backed Chevelle. Roush led the last 22 laps to take the win. Buck Purtee was a close second, with fast qualifier Shawn Stansell third. Veteran driver Mike Snapp was fourth with Rob Schaeff fifth.

Purtee was the dash winner, with South and Kyle Stager taking heat checkereds.

The 20-lap Tuner feature was won by defending track champion Terry Eaton, Jr. of Quincy. Eaton’s winning Honda was sponsored by Plank’s Pizza. Gary Eaton, fast qualifier Matt Jackson, Scott Marquis and Eddie Kemp rounded out the top five. Terry Eaton also was the dash winner.

In Pure Stocks, it was Jason Purtee of DeGraff leading the first five laps before giving way to Justin Durflinger. Durflinger looked to have the race in hand before a flat tire with two laps to go. Purtee, in his L&B Auto Repair Thunderbird took advantage of Durflinger’s bad luck to take the win. The win was the first ever for the second-generation driver. Rob Bryant, Josh Foltz, Durflinger and Lane Crabtree finished second through fifth. Foltz was fast qualifier with the dash win going to Durflinger.

Larry Adams of East Liberty powered his Neon to his second win of the season in the compacts. Adams car is sponsored by Fields Farm Service. Zak Doolin was second, with Ray Smith third, Joel Neese fourth and Chris Lucas fifth. Adams was fast qualifier with the dash checkered going to Doolin.

Shady Bowl will hold the annual Bill Lewis Memorial this Saturday. The main event will be a 40-lap modified feature. The late models, street stocks, pure stocks and tuners will also be on hand. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

Mike Ward (pictured) won the main event at Shady Bowl on Saturday.
https://www.urbanacitizen.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/36/2016/05/web1_thumbnail_Press-Ward.jpgMike Ward (pictured) won the main event at Shady Bowl on Saturday.

No posts to display