Recount to be held in St. Paris council race


The race for a village council seat in St. Paris will continue into next week when a recount will take place.

The Champaign County Board of Elections scheduled a recount in the race between council members Terry Ervin II and Niven Jester for Nov. 24.

The recount was scheduled Tuesday during a board of elections meeting. During the meeting, the election results for the other Nov. 3 races were certified.

Unofficial election results from election night showed the two candidates were separated by one vote with Ervin receiving 288 votes and Jester receiving 287 votes. Official results released by the board on Tuesday now shows Jester leading with 294 votes and Ervin trailing with 292 votes.

Board of Elections Director Kathy Meyer said an automatic recount is needed because the spread between the two candidates is not wide enough.

“It had to be over a half of one percent just between the two and that would have made it 2.93, which we would have to round up to three votes and they’re only two votes apart,” Meyer said.

Former village street commissioner Tyler Adkins remained the highest vote recipient, winning a seat on council with 346 votes. Unofficial results previously showed Adkins captured 331 votes.

Adkins worked as the street commissioner from 2003 until he was terminated in June.

Other unofficial election results certified

By Nick Walton

[email protected]

Nick Walton can be reached at 937-652-1331 Ext. 1777 or on Twitter @UDCWalton.

No posts to display