Mechanicsburg school board incumbents re-elected


MECHANICSBURG – Mechanicsburg Exempted Village Schools will have two familiar faces on its school board.

Voters returned school board incumbents Paul McMahill and Scott Wolf to their spots in Tuesday’s election, according to unofficial vote totals.

Unofficial vote totals were 722 for McMahill, 660 for Wolf and 611 for Smith, which is for both Champaign and Madison counties. McMahill received 709 votes in Champaign County and 13 in Madison County. Wolf received 647 votes in Champaign County and 13 in Madison County. Smith received 602 votes in Champaign County and 9 in Madison County. Unofficial results include absentee ballots, but not provisionals.

Wolf and McMahill could not be reached for comment.

Smith congratulated McMahill and Wolf on their wins.

“While I am disappointed I wasn’t elected to the board this time around, I pledge to find another way to serve our school and community in a meaningful way,” she said. “I hope with the passage of the school’s renewal levy, our district can continue to make strides academically and work collaboratively with parents and teachers who have concerns about curriculum, so that kids in Mechanicsburg receive the best education possible.”

An estimated 48.25 percent of voters in Champaign County and 46.5 percent in Madison County voted in Tuesday’s election. Official vote counts will be Nov. 17 in Champaign County and Nov. 24 in Madison County.

By Casey S. Elliott

[email protected]

Casey S. Elliott may be reached at 937-652-1331 ext. 1772 or on Twitter @UDCElliott.

No posts to display