Smith cleans up at Shady Bowl


DeGRAFF – It was “Military Night” at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday. Retired and active military members were admitted free.

It also turned out to be Josh Smith Night, as the Quincy driver set a track record, won the dash and the 35-lap feature. Russ Bobb led the first two laps before giving way to Mike Ward. Ward paced the field until lap nine when Smith passed him. Smith made it look easy as he powered his Jamie Hunt Motorsports sponsored ride to the checkered. Ward held on for second, with Greg Stapleton third, Jacob Muncy fourth and heat winner Kenny George fifth.

Bellefontaine driver Justin Durflinger picked up the pure stock main in his Ray’s Lawn Service Chevy. The win was the 10th of the season for Durflinger.

In street stock action Buck Purtee of DeGraff finally got the bad luck monkey off his back to win his first feature of the season in his L&B Auto Repair Ford. Purtee took the lead from Rodney Roush on lap two and never looked back as he reached the checkered just before Shawn Stansell. Roush was third, with fast qualifier Josh Sage fourth and Chad Brandyberry fifth. Dave Sage won the dash and Ryan Burch and Jim Lewis Jr were heat race winners.

Mike Pippin led the first six laps of the modified main before giving way to Mike Carroll. Carroll then put the hammer down on his KEG Chassis backed racer and led the remainder of the laps to take the win. Greg Stapleton was second, with fast qualifier Brad Williams third. Pippin held on for fourth and Chris Parker was fifth. Brad Yelton was the dash winner with the heat going to Carl Stapleton.

Fast qualifier Terry Eaton was the winner of the tuner main in his Planks Pizza Honda. Second through fifth spots went to Austin Eaton, Rodney Roush, Justin Pope and Kevin McCoy. Pope was the dash winner with the heat win going to McCoy.

Ryan Barrett of Spring Valley claimed the top spot in the compact main. Larry Adams, Nicholas Meade, Josh Fultz and Chris Lucas rounded out the top five. Meade was fast qualifier.

This Saturday will mark the final points race for 2015 for all classes. It will also be Farmers’ Night, with race winners receiving live farm animals. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

No posts to display