Carroll wins Isaacs Classic


DeGRAFF – Mike Carroll continued his hot streak by winning the Earl and Peggy Isaacs Classic modified feature at Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday night.

The victory came on the heels of his win last week in the Lee Raymond Memorial. Carroll once again led every lap to post the win. Brad Williams, Brad Yelton, Chris Parker and Mark Parker rounded out the top five. Greg Stapleton was fast qualifier. The heats went to Carroll and Aaron Pippin. Mark Parker was the dash winner.

The late model feature saw veteran driver John Stroble lead the first six counters before mechanical woes put him in the pits. Son Shawn then took the lead in his wild-colored race car and led the rest of the way to post his first feature win of the season. Greg Stapleton was second, with fast qualifier Josh Smith third. John Stroble came back to finish fourth. Veteran Russ Bobb rounded out the top five.

In compact action, Larry Adams set quick time and won his fourth feature of the season. Adams edged out Nicholas Meade, Josh Foltz, Alex George and Chris Lucas for the win. Chris Lucas was the heat winner, with Zach Doolin taking the fast car dash.

The street stock main saw several spins and minor crashes. Rodney Roush led the first eight counters before giving way to Chad Brandyberry. Brandyberry set a torrid pace to wrap up his first win of the season. Shawn Stansell, Buck Purtee, Roush and fast qualifier Josh Sage battled for the top five spots before finishing in that order. Jim Lewis, Jr. took the dash win, with Mike South, Jr. and Bo Hoelscher taking heat wins.

In the Pure Stock feature, Justin Durflinger was the winner.

This Saturday night will be Kids Night with Big Wheel Races and penny scramble. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

Mike Carroll (pictured) won the Isaacs Classic at Shady Bowl on Saturday. Carroll (pictured) won the Isaacs Classic at Shady Bowl on Saturday.

No posts to display