Numerous candidates to be on Nov. 3 ballots


Several Champaign County residents submitted petitions to the county Board of Elections by Wednesday’s 4 p.m. deadline in hopes of winning a local seat in the Nov. 3 general election.

In addition, Richard Alan Ebert filed to be a write-in candidate for Urbana City Council’s 4th ward seat. Write-in candidates do not appear on ballots. Deadline for write-ins is Aug. 24.

Democrats and Republicans winning May primaries and appearing on the Nov. 3 ballot for Urbana races include the following incumbents: Democrat Council President Marty Hess and Republican council member at-large Patrick Thackery. Republican Cledis Scott is up for Republican Al Evans’ first ward council seat. Evans opted not to run for re-election. Democrat Everett Ray Piper received more votes than incumbent Democrat Virginia Smith in the primary for the fourth ward seat.


In Christiansburg, Charles E. Lyons III and Jennifer Litteral filed petitions to be the village’s next mayor, and Charles D. Fay filed for a village council seat.

In Mechanicsburg, Gregory Kimball filed a petition for the mayor’s post, and Christian Bradford, Charles E. Foss and Jodi Eileen Compton filed for council seats.

In North Lewisburg, Cheryl J. Hollingsworth submitted petitions for mayor. Those filing for council seats were Gwen Beech, Dennis K. Lamb, Susan M. Woodard and Nathan Holycross.

In Saint Paris, Joseph W. Reneer and Brad Kennedy will vie for the position of mayor. Filing for council seats were Tyler Adkins, Terry W. Ervin II and Niven Jester.

School boards

Those filing for seats on the Graham school board are G. Shockley Wier, Michael Ludlow, Miranda Uhl and Ryan A. Pine.

Mechanicsburg school board candidates are Scott Wolf, Paul McMahill and Elizabeth H. Smith.

Triad school board candidates are Randy J. Moore, W. Chris Millice and Matthew S. McConnell.

Urbana school board candidates are Jan Engle, Warren Stevens and Toby Taylor

West Liberty-Salem board candidates are Patrick Adams, Christopher Moell and Trey Richardson, all of whom filed with the Logan County Board of Elections.

Jeffrey Allen Burroughs filed for a seat on the board of the Madison-Champaign Education Service Center.


Many township seats will be on the November ballot. The following are township candidates.

Adams Township: Kevin “Mitch” Pence, Trustee; Mary Jo Kies, Fiscal Officer

Concord Township: Caren J. Wagner, Trustee; Jason McKinney, Trustee; Penelope L. Dunlavy, Fiscal Officer

Goshen Township: Charles Steven Cooper, Trustee; Renae Rader Parker, Fiscal Officer; Christopher Foss, Fiscal Officer

Harrison Township: Lowell Kauffman, Trustee; Patricia Brehm, Fiscal Officer

Jackson Township: Douglas L. Zirkle, Trustee; Herb Luttrell, Trustee; Steven Flora, Trustee; David J. Pierson, Fiscal Officer

Johnson Township: Dennis Kauffman, Trustee; David Ervin, Trustee; Suellen Slayton, Fiscal Officer

Mad River Township: Michael E. Ward, Trustee; Shane Smith, Trustee; Brad K. Zerkle; Richard D. Ford, Fiscal Officer

Rush Township: Cinda K. Bailey, Trustee; Kathleen Packman, Fiscal Officer; Maranda McDaniel, Fiscal Officer

Salem Township: Rick Clyburn, Trustee; Jeanie Crabtree, Fiscal Officer

Union Township: Ron Williams, Trustee; Terry Rittenhouse, Trustee; Linda A. Gordon, Fiscal Officer

Urbana Township: Paul Wright, Trustee; Audra Bean, Trustee; Ruth Rooney, Fiscal Officer

Wayne Township: Max Perry, Trustee; Susan L. Helterbran, Fiscal Officer

Staff Report

No posts to display