Carroll claims Raymond Memorial


DeGRAFF — Shady Bowl Speedway played host to the Lee Raymond Memorial Saturday. The race to honor the local driver who went on to claim national championships with ARCA is held annually. A full field of 26 cars thundered into turn one at the drop of the green flag. Kettering’s Mike Carroll took the lead and led all 67 laps to claim the win and the $2,000 that went to the winner. Greg Stapleton set quick time and was second, with Brad Williams third, Greg Winget fourth and Brad Yelton fifth. Logan McPherson took the dash checkered, with Joe Pequignot, Steve Snapp and Andy Bohn taking heat wins.

In late model action, Buck Purtee led the first five counters before giving way to Greg Stapleton. Stapleton held off the charges of fast qualifier Josh Smith to post the win in a crash-filled event. John Stroble was third with Purtee fourth and Scott Sullenberger fifth. The dash checkered went to Brad Coons, with Jim Frederick taking the heat win.

The street stock feature saw Dillon Snapp lead all 25 laps to post his first feature win. Buck Purtee finished a close second, with Shawn Stansell, Chad Brandyberry and Rodney Roush rounding out the top five. Josh Sage was fast qualifier with Stansell winning the dash. Purtee and Josh Longstreth were heat winners.

Austin Eaton scored the win in the tuner class as he held off the challenges of Terry Eaton to go to victory lane. Rodney Roush, Gary Eaton and Justin Pope rounded out the top five. Austin Eaton also won the dash, with Gary Eaton taking the heat win. Roush was fast qualifier.

In compact action, Nick Barrett won the feature in his Honda. Nicholas Meade was second, with Zach Doolin, Josh Foltz and Damien Killen following.

Meade was the dash winner, with Barrett taking the heat.

Justin Durflinger rounded out the evening by edging out Brian Peterson for the win in the pure stocks.

This Saturday will be the Earl and Peggy Isaacs Classic. The event will honor the Saint Paris couple for service to the speedway. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

Kettering’s Mike Carroll (pictured) won the Lee Raymond Memorial at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.’s Mike Carroll (pictured) won the Lee Raymond Memorial at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.

No posts to display