Smith claims Shatto Memorial


DeGRAFF – It was a rare sight for Shady Bowl Speedway fans Saturday night as the racing program played out before a sun-drenched crowd. The track has had the most rain-outs in its history this season. The main event was the Denny Shatto Memorial for the late models. The event is held annually to honor the memory of Shatto, who fielded some of the best looking and running cars in the Midwest. A field of 15 cars took the green flag to start the 110-lap main.

It was yellow flag after yellow flag during the running with Josh Smith of Quincy taking the checkered. Greg Stapleton, John Stroble Buck Purtee and Brad Coons rounded out the top five. Stroble was the dash winner, with heat checkereds going to Ross Klingelhofer and Scott Sullenberger. Smith was fast qualifier.

The open wheel modifieds had 23 cars take the green for their feature. It took several restarts to get the field sorted out. Chad Poole of Springfield was the winner of the feature as he bested Logan McPherson, Brad Yelton, Ross Klinglehofer and Brad Williams. Klingelhofer took the dash checkered, with heat wins going to Steve Snapp, Jim Lewis, Jr. and Chad Fiessinger. Greg Stapleton was fast qualifier.

The street stock feature also was a victim of several minor spins and crashes. When the event was over Bo Hoelscher of Riverside was in victory lane. Rodney Roush, Buck Purtee, Shawn Stansell and Chad Brandyberry rounded out the top five. Mike Snapp won the dash, with Hoelscher and Josh Longstreth heat winners. Jacob Muncy was the fastest qualifer.

Rodney Roush put his Honda in victory lane for the tuners. Terry Eaton, Jr., Austin Eaton, Bill Honious and Lesley Rhodes finished out the top five. Austin Eaton won the dash, with Honious taking the eight lap heat win.

The compact main saw Larry Adams take over the lead at the halfway point. Adams never looked back as he led the final 10 counters to notch the win. Nicholas Meade, Josh Foltz, Zach Doolin and Chris Lucas rounded out the top five. Foltz was the dash winner with Alex George taking the heat win. Adams set quick time.

Quincy’s Josh Smith (pictured) won the Shatto Memorial on Saturday at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.’s Josh Smith (pictured) won the Shatto Memorial on Saturday at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.

From staff and wire reports

No posts to display