Seven winners at Shady Bowl

Submitted story

DeGRAFF – Mother Nature finally saw fit to bless Shady Bowl Speedway with a Saturday that featured no rain. The hill-side oval has had to cancel four races already this season. Seven divisions of stock cars competed on Saturday.

The 35-lap late model feature saw Columbus resident Jacob Muncy lead the field into turn one at the drop of the green flag. Muncy soon had his hands full as Don Mahaffey Jr. tried the high side to pass him. The two put on a great show for fans as they ran side by side. The speeding pair made contact several times before Muncy was able to put his Muncy Racing ride out front. Mahaffey fended off the challenges of former track champion Mathew Parsons. The trio finished first, second and third when the checkered flag flew. Jessie Gade and Jim Lewis Jr. rounded out the top five. Mahaffey took the dash win, with Lewis and Russ Bobb posting heat wins. Josh Smith was fast qualifier. Caleb Reschar picked up the Amsoil Hard Charger award.

In modified action Brad Yelton in the Redskin Motor Sports open wheeler led all 35 laps to notch the win. Yelton was behind the wheel of the #10 car normally driven by Bud Perry. Brian Brandberry, Chris Parker, Jerry Stapleton and Logan McPherson chased Yelton’s Boerger Electric sponsored car across the finish line. Joe Pequignot was the dash winner, with heat honors going to Stapleton and Gregg Jackson. Greg Stapleton set fast time. The DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger award went to Stapleton.

The 25-lap street stock feature was dominated by Fairborn speedster Jim Lewis Jr. in his family-owned Camaro sponsored by Performance Paint. Shawn Stansell, Jacob Muncy, Buck Purtee and Rodney Roush finished second through fifth. Stansell won the dash, with the heat win going to Roush. Stansell was the winner of the Hard Charger award sponsored by Ohlinger Automotive.

In the super compacts Quincy’s Terry Eaton Jr. was the winner of the 20-lap feature. Austin Eaton was second, with Eddie Kemp third and fast qualifier Bo Hoelsher fourth.

The 20 lap compact feature was won by New Carlisle driver Josh Foltz. Foltz was driving a Neon sponsored by White Line Designs. Jimmy McElfresh was second, with Larry Adams third, Trey Gregory fourth and Cody Wynn fifth. Wynn took the four lap dash with Adams carrying the checkered for the heat win. Adams picked up the Quick Parts Hard Charger award.

The pure stock main saw New Carlisle driver Zack Doolin score his third feature win in his Quick Parts backed racer. Jason Purtee, Ryan Tamburro and John Eastman rounded out the field.

Bob Brown was the winner of the spectator drag in his Mustang.

This Saturday will be Emerson Employee Appreciation Night. There will be a “meet and greet” where fans can come out on the track and meet their favorite drivers. In addition, Tim Ice will make his return to Shady Bowl. Ice has always been a longtime favorite of local fans. He will be behind the wheel of a Smiths Motor Sports stocker. The late models, modifieds, street stocks, pure stocks, compacts and spectator drag races are on the schedule.

Shady Bowl will play host to a huge weekend of racing over Memorial day. There will be action starting Friday through Monday. The Monday show will feature a 100-lap modified feature paying $5,000 to win. This pay-out is based on at least 35 entries.

Submitted story