Purtee wins Sceva Memorial

Buck Purtee (pictured) won the Sceva Memorial at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.

Buck Purtee (pictured) won the Sceva Memorial at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.

DeGRAFF — Shady Bowl Speedway fans were treated to a full night of racing Saturday. It marked the running of the Neal Sceva Memorial, an annual race to honor the memory of Sceva. The Urbana resident posted over 600 feature wins during his stellar career. It was also a Relay for Life fund-raiser. The Vintage Auto Racing Club (VARC) cars were on display and also competed in a heat race and feature.

This year’s Sceva Memorial was for the street stocks. Mike South, Jr. led the first 10 counters before giving way to Rodney Roush. Roush battled with Buck Purtee before having to go to the pit area with a flat tire. Purtee then powered his Ford Falcon out front and led the rest of the way to claim the win. The win was worth $1,051 to Purtee and his L&B Auto Service backed racer. Nic Burnside turned in a solid performance, as the rookie was second. Rodney Roush, Mike South, Jr. and Chad Small II rounded out the top five. The dash win went to Mike Litchfield with heat checkereds going to Josh Longstreth and Chris Abbott. Dave Sage of Piqua was fast qualifier.

The Central Ohio Late Model Alliance series held its first-ever event. Ross Klingelhofer jumped out front at the drop of the green of the 40-lap feature.. Klingelhofer led through lap 23 when Fairborn driver Jim Lewis, Jr. took over the lead. Lewis had his Tristar sponsored Chevy out front the rest of the way. Lewis had just taken the checkered when the engine blew in the Williams racing entry. John Stroble was a close second, with Don Mahaffey, Jr. third, Tyler Mahaffey fourth and Bob Fihe fifth. Tyler Mahaffey was the winner of the dash, with Jerry Stapleton taking the heat win. Josh Smith was fast qualifier.

In pure stocks, DeGraff’s Jason Purtee followed older brother Buck’s lead as he powered his L&B Auto Service Ford to another feature win. Rob Bryant was a close second, with Jay Lakins, Jr. third, Jeff Binkley fourth and John Eastman fifth.

In modified action, Daniel McPherson led the first two laps in his family-owned open wheeler. Brad Yelton then took over the lead. Yelton was out front until lap 20 when fast qualifier Greg Stapleton took over the lead. The Troy driver set a blistering pace all the way to the checkered in his Springhills Auto Racing sponsored car. Yelton was second, with Mike Carroll, Logan McPherson and Buddy Townsend rounding out the top five. Townsend was the dash winner, with Gregg Jackson and Jerry Stapleton winning heats.

The tuner class rounded out the night’s racing. Matt Jackson powered his Hanger 18 backed four cylinder to another feature win. Fast qualifier Terry Eaton was second. Eddie Kemp, John Eastman and Shane Mathews rounded out the field.

On Saturday, will be Dayton Auto Racing Fan Club night. All current DARF members will be admitted for half price to the grandstand area. The late models, modifieds, street stocks, pure stocks, tuners and compacts will be in action. It will be a double points event. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

Buck Purtee (pictured) won the Sceva Memorial at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.
https://www.urbanacitizen.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/36/2016/06/web1_Purtee061116.jpgBuck Purtee (pictured) won the Sceva Memorial at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.