Shady Bowl concludes season


DeGRAFF — Shady Bowl Speedway completed its 2017 season with a full night of racing on Saturday.

The modifieds ran a 40-lap feature with the winner taking home $1,000. Mike Pippin took the lead at the drop of the green. Scott Drake of Xenia motored by on lap two. Drake then broke away from the pack and scored his second win of the season in his Roger Winget Race Cars open wheeler. Brad Yelton, Daniel McPherson, Logan McPherson and Pippin rounded out the top five. Yelton was the dash winner, with heats going to Logan McPherson and Shawn Jones. Buddy Townsend was the fast qualifier. Drake finished off his big night by winning the DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award.

The street stocks had a new look, as it was “Run What Ya Brung Night.” The drivers had added sprint car wings and Plexiglas side boards to make the cars more aerodynamic. Hoosier veteran driver Chuck Barnes Jr. set a track record with a 13.219 lap, beating the mark set last year by Rob Schaeff. Jim Lewis Jr. of Fairborn took the lead on lap three. NTR record holder Barnes worked his way through the field and soon got by Lewis on lap eight. Barnes put it in cruise control as he sliced and diced his way through lapped traffic.

Trouble loomed ahead for the former CRA champion, as mechanical woes put him in the pits on lap 14. On the restart, Lewis then took the lead back. Lewis, in his Victory Machine Camaro. held the lead during the final counters. The win was the fourth of the season for Lewis. 2017 track champion Rodney Roush was second, with Randy Walton, Schaeff and Steve Hursey rounding out the top five.

The Bonanza compacts were also on the schedule. Piqua’s Mike Wintrow spent the week repairing his car after a hard crash last week. The Line-X backed front wheel drive racer was fixed to perfection as Wintrow took the lead near the halfway point and went on to score his first feature win. Jordon Sage was second, with Justin Pope third, fast qualifier Jimmy Devuono fourth and Corey Plunkett fifth. Wintrow won the dash, with Pope and Robbie Coppock winning the heat races.

The Super Compact feature went to Terry Eaton Jr. of Quincy. Eaton took the lead from Brooks Horseman in lap seven and never looked back in his L&B Auto Honda. Justin Pope, Horseman, Nick Barrett and Eddie Kemp followed.

Jason Purtee of DeGraff piloted his Ford bodied Fat Boys Pizza cat to his sixth win of the season in the pure stocks. 2017 track champion Zach Doolin was second, with Jimmy McElfresh third and Don Pyles fourth.

Xenia driver Scott Drake took his second modified feature win at Shady Bowl on Saturday. driver Scott Drake took his second modified feature win at Shady Bowl on Saturday.

Submitted story

No posts to display