Klingelhofer wins modified feature


DeGRAFF – The temperature was hot and so was the racing action at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday.

The modifeds headlined the action with a 40-lap feature paying $1,000 to win. Scott Drake of Xenia jumped out front early in the event to lead the first 20 laps. Gregg Jackson then took over the point. Jackson was soon joined by Ross Klingelhofer and fast qualifier Logan McPherson. The trio hooked up in a three-car break away that saw the running order change nearly every lap.

When the white flag flew it was Jackson out front. Coming to the checkered it was a drag race with Quincy’s Klingelhofer just edging out Jackson. Jackson was second, with McPherson third, Shawn McNeely fourth and Buddy Townsend fifth. Daniel McPherson took the heat checkered, with Jackson posting the dash win. Klingelhofer also won the DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award.

Don Mahaffey Jr. of Dayton powered his Hanger 18 Race Cars late model to the feature win for the sixth time in 2017. Mahaffey overpowered Buddy Townsend on lap 26 to lead the rest of the way. Townsend held on for second, with Jim Lewis Jr. a strong third. Harrison Hall and Brian Reeser rounded out the top five.

The 30-lap compact race was a true test of survival as the pace was slowed by a rash of spins and crashes. Corey Plunkett led the first lap before Josh Sage took over. Sage led through lap eight before giving way to Mike Wintrow. Wintrow paced the field until lap 12, when Lakeview driver Eddie Kemp took the lead. Kemp powered his Kirby Auto Parts backed racer to his first feature win. Justin Pope, Bill Ramey, Damien Killen and Jim Sourmail finished second through fifth. Fast qualifier Wintrow was the dash winner, with Killen and Ramey winning heat races.

Jason Purtee arrived in time to run the feature for the pure stocks and dominated the 20-lapper in his Fat Boys Pizza Ford. It was the fourth win of the season for Purtee. Kenny George Jr., Don Pyles, Dean Schaeffer and Jim McElfresh rounded out the top five.

The spectator drag race was won by Zack Thornhill over Rob Taylor.

This Saturday will be the final event of the season. The modifieds will run a 40-lap feature worth $1,000 for the winner. The street stocks will run 50 laps in a “run what ya brung” feature. The pure stocks, compacts, super compacts and spectator drags will round out the schedule of events.

Rodd Klingelhofer of Quincy won his first modified feature of the year.
https://www.urbanacitizen.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/36/2017/09/web1_pressklimng.jpgRodd Klingelhofer of Quincy won his first modified feature of the year.

Submitted story

No posts to display