Shady Bowl set to crown 2017 champions


DeGRAFF — Shady Bowl Speedway will crown its 2017 champions with a full program of racing on Saturday. It will be the final points race, however, racing will continue through September.

The modified title is very much up for grabs, with Springfield’s Shane Shirk holding a 17-point lead over Bellefontaine’s Logan McPherson. Shirk was the 2014 champion.

The spectator drag class is a real dogfight, with Bob Brown and Chad Owens tied for the title. Corey Plunkett is only trailing by three points. The winning driver will win a race-ready compact racer, with driver safety equipment.

The late model title will go to Dayton’s Don Mahaffey Jr. It will be the third championship for the noted car builder.

The compact crown will go to Medway driver Josh Foltz.

Foltz dominated the class by winning 10 features behind the wheel of the PLP racing Neon.

Sidney driver Rodney Roush is the street stock champion. The crown was the sixth for Roush in his family-owned Chevelle.

Zach Doolin of New Carlisle in the pure stock champion. Doolin posted eight feature wins in his PLP Cutlass.

The super compact title chase shows Riverside’s Bo Hoelsher leading Terry Eaton by 50 points.

Racing will begin at 7 p.m. on Saturday.

The family and friends of Terri Lemmon Young will hold a benefit to help with the costs of her health care. Terri passed away recently after a long battle with cancer. There will be a car and bike rally, 50/50 drawing, silent auction, raffle, games and a dunk tank. Several drivers have signed up to participate in the dunk tank action. The benefit will run from 11 a.m.-4 p.m.

Submitted story

No posts to display