Smith wins big at Shady Bowl

DeGRAFF – Shady Bowl Speedway fans were treated to a dominant performance by late model driver Josh Smith of Quincy as he swept both the twin 55-lap late model features held to honor the memory of Sidney car builder and owner Denny Shatto. Smith also set fast time and picked up the Amsoil Hard Charger Award.

The first feature saw Jacob Muncy lead the first 14 laps before giving way to Jim Lewis, Jr. Lewis led until lap 28 when Smith went by in his CS&SS LLC-sponsored racer. Smith dominated the final laps to take the checkered. Muncy held on for second, followed by John Stroble, Caleb Reschar and Tyler Parsons.

The second race was dominated by Smith as he led all the way. Second place turned out to be a great battle between former champions Don Mahaffey, Jr. and Matthew Parsons. The two swapped paint several times before Mahaffey edged Parsons at the checkered. Jesse Gade was fourth with Lewis fifth. In victory lane, Smith thanked his crew and his father Jerry for all the work they put in on the car. He also was quick to thank Wayne Watercutter of the Watercutter Short Track Driving Institute. Smith graduated first in his class and applied a lot of his knowledge in his wins. In was a very profitable night for the team, as they collected $1,000 for each feature plus a $1,000 bonus for winning both races.

In street stock action, Smith climbed into Jamie Hunt’s street stock and set fast time. The 25-lap feature was led on lap one by Jacob Heckman. Heckman gave up the lead on lap two to Matt Wilson. Wilson, making his first-ever Shady Bowl appearance, led until lap 20 when Smith took over the lead. Smith went on to win the race, bringing his prize winnings to well over $3,000 for his night’s work. Wilson held on for second, with Jim Lewis, Jr. third, Rodney Roush fourth and Chad Small II fifth. Wilson and Josh Longstreth were heat winners. Smith won the Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger Award.

The 20-lap compact feature was won by Medway driver Josh Foltz. The win was the seventh of the season for Foltz in his Decker Trucking Neon. Defending track champion Larry Adams was second, with Dusty Harding, Ryan Smith and Cody Wynn rounding out the top five. Jimmy McElfresh won the dash, with Harding and Adams taking heat wins. Foltz won the the Quick Parts Hard Charger Award.

In super compact action, Riverside driver Bo Hoelscher won the 10-lap feature in his T.J. Stables-backed Honda. Terry Eaton Jr., Austin Eaton and Eddie Kemp rounded out the field.

The spectator drag race saw Corey Plunkett out-run Bob Brown.

This Saturday, Shady Bowl will host the Bill Lewis Memorial race for the modifieds. The 50-lap feature will pay $1,500 to win. The late models, street stocks, pure stocks, compacts and spectator drag cars will also be in action. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

Submitted story