‘We are Golden’


The Champaign County Retired Teachers Association is celebrating its Fiftieth Anniversary throughout the year 2017. The Theme for the year is “We Are Golden!”

Founded as part of the Ohio Retired Teachers Association, the group started in 1967 under the leadership of Lewis Prine, who served two years as its president. The names of officers and members of the group through the years would be recognizable to many Champaign County residents. CCRTA sponsors a scholarship each year, offers treats to current teachers in the schools, participates in various community projects, hears speakers on topics of interest, and fosters fellowship among retired teachers.

For several years the group has kept track of the hours that members donate for charitable work. This includes many activities benefiting churches, schools, health and safety issues, and other groups too numerous to mention. The volunteer hours for 2016 supersede all previous years at a reported 13,229. The highest number of hours were served by Janet Hains, Sherry Virts, Janet Ebert and Larry Lokai.

The Golden Anniversary year of 2017 will include programs that celebrate the memories of its members. February will include a visit from ORTA and readings of the earliest minutes. Members will begin discussions of earlier days. The April meeting will provide an opportunity for retired teachers to tell of their most inspirational teachers. The June gathering will honor scholarship winners with an update of their current activities. Later in the year the group will mention colleagues who were helpful, and students whom they especially remember. The final two meetings of the year will be celebrations of the Golden Year and Christmas.

The organization meets bi-monthly on the second Tuesday (except Champaign County Fair Week). The meetings are held at the Church of the Nazarene in Urbana (corner of State Route #29 and Dugan Road), and begin with a luncheon at 11:00.

The CCRTA includes retired teachers from local schools, and school retirees who reside in Champaign County and nearby areas. For further information, please call the current President Karen Headlee at 937-653-7777.

Champaign County Retired Teachers Assn. celebrating 50th year

By Janet Ebert

CCRTA member

Submitted by Champaign County Retired Teachers Association.

No posts to display