Faulkner retains seat, historical society levy fails


Incumbent Champaign County Commissioner David Faulkner, a Republican, easily held off a challenge by independent candidate Barnaby Ofori, 12,479 votes to 3,476, according to unofficial results of Tuesday’s general election.

Other races for countywide office were uncontested with all current Republican officeholders on the ballot re-elected to new terms.

A countywide issue to renew the Champaign County Health District’s levy was approved by a wide margin, 10,349 to 6,698.

The Champaign County Historical Society’s proposed new tax levy to support its operations failed, 9,471 to 7,437.

Mental Health Drug and Alcohol Services Board’s replacement for an existing levy was approved by Champaign County voters, 9,731 to 7,343, and was trending ahead in Logan County at press time. No final tally for Logan County was available. The board serves both counties.

In Urbana, all proposed charter amendments were approved.

An additional levy for roads and bridges that had repeatedly failed on numerous attempts in Salem Twp. was finally approved by voters, 607-567.

St. Paris’s additional tax levy for police services failed, 428-347.

Two proposals for utility service aggregation in St. Paris failed. Electric aggregation failed, 430-312, and gas aggregation failed 432-307.

Other township/district levy results:

Approved: Johnson-St. Paris Fire District renewal; Wayne Twp. road renewal; Salem Twp. fire/EMS replacement; Rush Twp. road renewal; Mad River Twp. fire renewal; Goshen Twp. EMS renewal.

Failed: Rush Twp. additional levy for current operating (577-341).

In the race for state school board that included local candidate Lilli Vitale, final tallies for the multi-county 1st district were not available at press time. Vitale did win Champaign County with 6,135 votes and had twice as many votes here as her nearest competitor, Linda Haycock. There were four candidates on the ballot.

Champaign County will be represented by a new state senator starting in 2017. Republican Matt Huffman won an uncontested race to replace State Sen. Keith Faber (R-Celina), who exits due to term limits. Incumbent State Rep. Nino Vitale (R-Urbana) also won re-election in an uncontested race. Fourth district U.S. Congressman Jim Jordan (R-Urbana) defeated Democratic challenger Janet Garrett to retain his seat. Incumbent Republican U.S. Sen. Rob Portman defeated Democratic challenger Ted Strickland.

In Champaign County, Republican presidential candidate Donald J. Trump defeated Democrat Hillary Clinton, 12,314 to 4,488.


For latest election results, log on to www.urbanacitizen.com

Staff report

No posts to display