District 9 volleyball teams announced


The All-District 9 volleyball teams were recently announced, with several local athletes making the list.

In Division II, Urbana’s Hunter Rogan and Graham’s Carly Carafa were each named to the First Team. Rogan was named the district’s Player of the Year.

Molly Hamilton (GHS), Olivia Dunham (UHS) and Kaitlin Trace (GHS) were placed on the Second Team, while Claire Comer (GHS), Taylor Adams (UHS) and Mackenzie Bean (UHS) earned honorable mention.

Urbana’s Chuck Pack was named the Division II Coach of the Year.

In Division III, West Liberty-Salem’s Olivia Ames and Triad’s Madison Dolby were named to the First Team.

Alex Burton (WL-S) was placed on the Second Team and Tory Cordell (WL-S) was selected for honorable mention.

In Division IV, Mechanicsburg’s Mary Mayo was selected to the Second Team.

In the Senior All-Star Game, Trace, Hamilton and Dolby will play for the Red Team in the Division I-II-III match, with Rogan, Dunham and Ames playing for the Blue Team. Pack will coach the Blue Team.

Mayo will compete in the Division IV game for the Red Team.

Johnson named to All-District squad

Urbana’s Cooper Johnson was also selected as a representative for the MVSSCA First Team in boys soccer for the third consecutive season.

Staff report

No posts to display