Stapleton wins Raymond Memorial


DeGRAFF — Shady Bowl Speedway outlasted a heavy rain shower that set race time back one hour, but the wait was worth it as fans saw a full program of stock car racing Saturday night. The main event was a 67-lap modified feature to honor the memory of local racer Lee Raymond. Raymond competed at local ovals before joining the ARCA Racing Series. He went on to claim rookie of the year honors and post two series championships.

The feature saw Brian Brandyberry and Steve Snapp battling for the lead. The two made contact with both being sent to the rear of the field. Mike Carroll then took over the lead briefly before fast qualifier Greg Stapleton sped by on lap 34. Stapleton, of Troy, set his sights on the checkered and went on to win his fifth feature of the season in his Springhills Auto Wrecking open wheeler. Carroll finished a close second, with Chris Parker third, Brad Yelton fourth and Daniel McPherson fifth. Joe Pequignot was the dash winner, with Parker and Greg Jackson winning heat races. Carl Stapleton won the hard charger award, with Greg Stapleton taking home a bonus for setting quick time. The extra payoff came from the friends of Lee Raymond Fan Club.

The tuner division saw DeGraff’s Terry Eaton Jr. make a clean sweep in L&B Auto Repair Honda. Eaton set fast time, won the dash and the feature. The win was his third of the season with one coming in the VORES Series. Matt Jackson, Austin Eaton, Justin Pope and Nicholas Philbeck finished second through fifth in the feature.

The street stock feature saw Sidney’s Rodney Roush lead the field into turn one. Roush was never passed and went on to win his third feature of the season in his Roush and Sons Racing Chevelle. The win was far from easy as Shawn Stansell, Jim Lewis Jr. and Buck Purtee all battled for a shot at Roush before finishing in that order. Mike South Jr. was fifth. Rob Schaeff was fast qualifier with Purtee winning the dash. Lewis and Aliza Snapp were heat winners. Purtee and Stansell shared the hard charger award.

The pure stock feature was a hard fought battle, Josh Foltz, Jason Purtee and Rob Bryant trading paint as they battled for the win. Foltz, of New Carlisle, went on to post the win in his Whiteline Designs racer. The win was the third of the season for Foltz. Purtee, Bryant, Lane Crabtree and Jeff Binkley rounded out the top five. Purtee set quick time, with Foltz winning the dash.

The winner of the compact feature was Kettering resident Nick Barrett in his Barrett Tool and Technology sponsored four cylinder. He also carried the checkered for the dash. Fast qualifier Scott Marquis was second, with Jim McElfresh, Ryan Barrett and Joel Nease following.

Justin Nease edged out Jacob Muncy to win the spectator drag race.

This Saturday will see Shady Bowl host the Frazier Night Tribute. Shady Bowl will recognize Curt Frazier and his family for supporting the speedway. The late models, street stocks, pure stocks, modifieds, compacts, tuners and spectator drag races will be on the card. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

No posts to display