Poore dominates 200-lapper at Shady Bowl


DeGRAFF – The CRA Street Stocks headlined the racing program Saturday night at Shady Bowl. It marked the season opener for the Champaign County oval. A field of 30 cars signed in to the pit area for the 200-lap feature. A real scare came during time trials when a car driven by Bryce Schaefer from Niles, Mich., flipped over the turn two wall as a result of a stuck throttle. Track co-owner Rick Young narrowly escaped injury as Schaefer’s car flipped over him. Luckily Young and Schaefer were not injured.

When the green flag flew at the start of the 200-lapper, Brett Hudson led the first 6 counters before giving way to Jacob Muncy. Muncy, the 2015 Street Stock champion at Shady Bowl, led until lap 42. Anderson, Ind., driver Josh Poore motored by to take the lead. Poore set a torrid pace surviving several minor spins and led the rest of the way to take the win. Jason Atkinson, Ryan Ammonett, Bret Hudson and Jeff Lane rounded out the top five. Local drivers Gordon Watson Jr. was sixth, Ricky Young was ninth, Rodney Roush was 11th, Jacob Muncy was 21st and Jamie Sites was 27th.

The Shady Bowl compacts and pure stocks rounded out the night of speed. Fast qualifier Larry Adams put his Detroit Tire Neon in victory lane for the 20-lap compact main. Zach Doolin, Ray Smith, Jordan Sage and Dean Adams rounded out the top five. Josh Foltz was the dash winner.

Jay Lakins of New Carlisle, in his Whiteline Designs Pure Stock, won the dash and the 20-lap feature. The win was an emotional one for Lakins as he dedicated his win to the memory of his sister Christi Lakins who tragically lost her life in a highway accident a month ago. Justin Durflinger was second. Fast qualifier Rob Bryant was third, Jason Purtee was fourth and Cass Kemp rounded out the top five.

This Saturday night, Shady Bowl will host a full program of Late Models, Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Tuners. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

Submitted story

No posts to display