Orchestra season concludes with guest violinist


SPRINGFIELD – The 2015-2016 season comes to a close for the Springfield Symphony Orchestra with “Russian Passion,” featuring Russian-American violinist Yevgeny Kutik.

The 8 p.m. Saturday, April 23, concert will be held in the Clark State Performing Arts Center, 300 S. Fountain Ave., Springfield, and will include Tchaikovsky’s “Polonaise from Eugene Onegin” and “Suite from Sleeping Beauty” and Shostakovich’s “Violin Concerto No. 1 in A.”

Opening Notes for this concert will be held in the Turner Studio Theatre with Wittenberg University Professor of Music Trudy Faber at 7:15 p.m. A Performance Prelude in the Davidson Lobby, also at 7:15 p.m. will feature string ensemble.

Admission is $27-$43 for adults and $15-$31 for students. Buy tickets online at http://www.springfieldsym.org/ or call the Clark State Performing Arts Center at 937-328-3874 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays. The box office opens at 6 p.m. on April 23. For further information call 937-325-8100 or visit the SSO website at www.springfieldsym.org.

Coming up

The Springfield Symphony Orchestra will present the Springfield Youth Orchestras and Children’s Chorus in concert at 7 p.m. on Monday, April 25, in Kuss Auditorium at the Clark State Performing Arts Center. The annual John Smarelli Scholarship Concert will feature the Springfield Youth Symphony, the Youth Chamber Orchestra, the Youth String Ensemble, and the Springfield Children’s Chorus. Tickets are $8 for adults, $5 for students and seniors. They are available at 937-328-3874 and online at www.springfieldsym.org.

The evening will also feature performances by “Live Wire” chamber ensembles: the Youth Symphony String Quartet and the Youth Symphony Percussion Ensemble.

Springfield Symphony youth programs feature musicians from 38 schools and homeschools in a 10-county area.

Russian-American violinist Yevgeny Kutik
https://www.urbanacitizen.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/36/2016/04/web1_Yevgeny-Kutik.jpgRussian-American violinist Yevgeny Kutik Submitted photo

Submitted story

Submitted by Springfield Symphony Orchestra.

No posts to display