Community Action Agency designated


Following a financial fallout in April 2014 that forced Tri-County Community Action to cease services to residents of Champaign, Logan and Shelby counties, the Community Action Organization of Delaware, Madison and Union Counties (CAODMU) has been filling in to help administer Community Service Block Grant funds to low-income individuals and families.

Two years later, the nonprofit organization has officially been designated the Community Action Agency for the tri-county area by the Ohio Development Services Agency (ODSA).

To earn the designation, the CAODMU spent much of 2015 seeking endorsements from local entities.

On June 16, 2015, Urbana City Council passed a resolution in support of the nonprofit, which through Community Service Block Grant funds administers various programs including the Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP) and the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program.

CAODMU’s Champaign County office is located at 40 Monument Square, Suite 200, Urbana.

For more information on the programs offered, contact Chanda Wilson, county manager, at 937-772-9164.

By Joshua Keeran

[email protected]

Joshua Keeran may be reached at 937-652-1331 (ext. 1774) or on Twitter @UDCKeeran.

No posts to display