Four Blue Knights named 1st team All-MEC


Four Urbana University men’s soccer student-athletes were named to the 2015 All-MEC First Team, the conference office announced Tuesday.

The Blue Knights appearing on the first team were Raoui Lassoued, Nathan Jones, Ben Fitzpatrick and Aaron Burt.

In addition, Callum Kerswell-Reid and Lewis Dunne were voted to the All-MEC Second Team, while Ebenezer Agyeman and Alex Zanotti were selected All-MEC Honorable Mention. Zanotti was also named to the league’s All-Freshman Team.

With eight total players receiving postseason all-conference recognition, UU passed its previous record of seven All-MEC honorees following the 2013 season.

University of Charleston teammates Will Roberts (Offensive Player of the Year) and Conor Branson (Defensive Player of the Year) earned the top two individual honors in the Mountain East Conference. In addition, Notre Dame College’s Alexis Le Ho was tabbed as the Freshman of the Year, and UC head coach Chris Grassie was named the league’s Coach of the Year after guiding the Golden Eagles to a second-straight league title.

Charleston led the way with five first team selections, followed by runner-up UU’s four. Notre Dame placed three players on the first team and West Virginia Wesleyan had one.

No. 18 UU climbed five spots in this week’s NSCAA Top 25 Coaches’ Poll, and will begin postseason play Wednesday afternoon in the MEC semifinals. The Blue Knights are set to host league-rival Notre Dame College at 2 p.m. inside UU Stadium. Admission is $5 for the general public, while UU students can attend for free with a student ID.

Submitted story

No posts to display