Eaton wins Eaton Classic at Shady Bowl


DeGRAFF – Shady Bowl Speedway hosted its biggest compact race of the season on Saturday. The All-American Compact Challenge is a 100-lap race paying $1,000 to win plus lap money.

Ray Smith led the 27-car field to the green. Smith held the top spot until Kenny George sped by. George led one lap until Chris Lucas motored by. Lucas led through lap 48 when Nick Barrett took over the point. Barrett led the field through lap 60. Fast qualifier Larry Adams then took the lead. Adams proved to be the class of the field as he led the remaining laps in his Detroit Tire Neon. The East Liberty resident was followed by Jim McEfresh, Ryan Barrett, Nick Barrett and Jeremy Menninger.

The Eaton Family Classic was also on the schedule. The event was held to honor the Eaton family for over four decades of racing at Shady Bowl. The senior family member, Donnie Eaton, used his dwarf car to pace the parade laps for the 12-car field. T.J. Gregory led lap one before Austin Eaton took the lead on lap two. Austin Eaton was at the front of the field until Terry Eaton took charge on lap 15. The 2015 track champ looked to have the race won as the laps counted down. Terry was leading until a brush with a lapped car cut down his right rear tire. Gary Eaton was charging to the front from his eighth place starting spot when Terry began to slow with the right rear tire going flat. Gary Eaton in his Sarica sponsored racer was just able to edge out Terry at the checkered flag. Justin Pope, Bill Honious and Kevin McCoy rounded out the top five. Terry Eaton was fast qualifier.

The street stocks competed in a 75-lap feature. Josh Longstreth led the first five counters before giving way to Shawn Stansell. Jim Lewis, Jr. then took his turn out front for five laps. New track record holder and 2015 street stock champ Jacob Muncy led until lap 54 when mechanical woes put him in the pits. The lead then went to Quincy’s Buck Purtee. Purtee was involved in an early-race skirmish that saw him restart from the rear of the field in his Ford Falcon.

The L&B Auto Repair backed car of Purtee led the final laps to post his second win of the season. Longstreth was second, with Chad Small third, Rodney Roush fourth and Ryan Birch fifth.

The pure stock main was won by Rob Bryant of Sidney. Bryant is sponsored by McIntire Painting. Jay Lakins, Jr. was second, followed by Justin Durflinger, Cass Kemp and Rob Fraley.

The Saturday will be “Run what ya Brung.” This is open to Late Models and Modifieds. Street Stocks will also be on hand.

Submitted story

No posts to display