Shady Bowl announces 2015 champions


DeGRAFF – Rain and wet grounds forced the cancellation of the racing at Shady Bowl Speedway on Saturday. It will not be rescheduled. It was to be the final points race of the season. Instead the current point leaders are now the 2015 champions: Josh Smith (late models), Brad Williams (modifieds), Jacob Muncy (street stocks), Terry Eaton Jr (tuners) Nicholas Meade (compacts) and Justin Durflinger (pure stocks). The champions will be honored at the Shady Bowl Awards banquet.

This Saturday, Shady Bowl will hold one of the top paying events for the compacts. The front wheel drive racers will compete in the 100 lap American Compact Challenge. One lucky driver will take home the top prize of $1,000. Rob Sharpe claimed the win last year. Kenny George finished first last year, but failed a post-race inspection.

It will also be Eaton Family Classic Night for the tuners. The Eatons have supported the speedway for over 40 years. There have been very few nights of racing when a member of the family was not in action. The street stocks will run 75 laps for $1,000 to win. The tuners will also be racing in a 50 lap race paying $498 to the winner. There will also be time changes in effect. The pit gate will open at 2 p.m., time trials will be at 3 p.m. and racing will be at 6 p.m.

No posts to display