It’s official: Ohio State is the all-time No. 1

By Steve Stout - [email protected]

Ohio State truly is the king of college football, as confirmed by the Associated Press Top 100 teams of all time.

Since the AP started its football poll 80 years ago, the Buckeyes are tops when overall poll appearances, No. 1 rankings and AP national championships are factored into the equation.

Oklahoma was second and Notre Dame came in third in the Top 100, which was released by the AP earlier this week.

Ironically, the AP photo we ran in Wednesday’s edition showing Coach Woody Hayes celebrating after the Buckeyes beat Iowa to win the 1957 Big Ten championship was from a season in which OSU ended up claiming the UPI national title, rather than the AP crown, which went to Auburn.


Ohio State clinched the 1957 Big Ten football championship by defeating Iowa, 17-13, on Nov. 16, 1957 in Columbus.

At the time, Ohio State was ranked sixth in the AP poll while Iowa was fifth.

The Buckeyes trailed, 13-10, heading into the fourth quarter in what had been a back-and-forth affair.

Dick LeBeau played mostly on defense and some on offense that day for the Buckeyes, and he recently mentioned that game as one of the most memorable in which he ever participated.

“We were determined to win that game, and nothing was going to stop us,” said the Pro Football Hall of Famer during the recent Legends Golf Classic at Mitchell Hills Club in Springfield.

Ohio State running back Bob White shredded the Hawkeyes in the fourth quarter, eventually scoring what proved to be the winning TD with 3:53 remaining in the game.

“It was probably the greatest team effort and display of will I’ve ever been a part of,” said LeBeau.


Trivia Time – PGA legend Sam Snead won seven majors.

This week’s question – Who was Ohio State’s football coach in 1936 when the AP poll began?

By Steve Stout

[email protected]

Reach Steve Stout at 652-1331 (ext. 1776) or on Twitter @udcstout

Reach Steve Stout at 652-1331 (ext. 1776) or on Twitter @udcstout