Candidates on ballot for local school board seats

Staff report

Local public school boards will have 31 candidates appearing on the Nov. 7 ballot, according to information from the Champaign County Board of Elections.

Nine people will run for three seats on the Urbana City School Board. The candidates are Tim Lacy, James B. Arter, Amy Shaloo Paul, Alyssa Dunham, John Birkhimer, Darrell Thomas, Jeffrey M. Hepp, Nicole Blair and Elizabeth DeWitt.

Candidates Laura J. Reed and Sarah J. Finch will compete for an open seat, with an unexpired term that ends Dec. 31, 2019, on the Urbana City School Board.

A public forum featuring candidates for the Urbana School Board will be held Wednesday, Oct. 11 at 6 p.m. at the Urbana University Student Center.

Other school boards

Seven people are running for three open seats on the Mechanicsburg Exempted Village School Board. The candidates are Tammy Huemmer, Todd Boeck, Sarah Bradford, Brian Forrest, Mary Reiser, Scott DeLong and Mark DeLong.

Incumbents Steve Setty and Steve Prince are running unopposed for two open seats on the Graham Local Schools Board of Education.

Michael Perry and April Freville are running for two seats on the Triad Board of Education, while Matthew S. McConnell is running for a Triad seat with an unexpired term.

Six people are running for three seats on the West Liberty-Salem School Board. The candidates include Chuck Buck, Trey Richardson, Dixie Kopus, David S. Cline and Tim Lamb. The name of write-in candidate Julie Cole will not appear on the pre-printed ballot but can be written into the blank space provided.

Mary Lee Gecowets of Champaign County and Sharon K. Shoaf of Madison County will run unopposed for two Madison-Champaign ESC Board seats.

Staff report