Mechanicsburg board approves raises, OAPSE contract

By Casey S. Elliott - [email protected]

MECHANICSBURG – Several Mechanicsburg Exempted Village Schools employees will receive raises for the upcoming school year.

The school board approved a 1.75 percent raise for the 2016-17 school year for several administrators at its Monday meeting. The board also ratified a multi-year contract with its Ohio Association of Public School Employees (OAPSE) staff.

The OAPSE contract, effective July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2020, provides for a 30 cent base pay increase for the 2016-17 school year, and a 33 cent base pay increase for the 2017-18 and 2018-19 school years, Treasurer Scott Maruniak said. The agreement has a wage “reopener” agreement for the final year of the contract.

The school board approved an administrative salary increase of 1.75 percent, effective July 1, 2016, for Superintendent Danielle Prohaska, Middle School Principal Marlo Schipfer, Maintenance Supervisor Paul Boggs, Elementary Principal Christy Garver and Director of Technology Eric Griffith. The increase is only for the first year of multi-year contracts. The increases match other salary increases for staff.

Prohaska’s salary will increase from $91,575 for the current year to $93,178 next school year, Maruniak said.

The board also approved new administrative contracts for Special Education Supervisor Cecilia Greene (one year), High School Principal Paul Hershberger Jr. (three years), Transportation Supervisor Matt Mayberry (five years), Athletic Director/Director of Operations Coby Wilhelm (two years) and Director of Data and Accountability Mary J. Huffman (five years).

The school board also took a tour of the main hall of the high school, where administrators are beginning to discuss some changes, such as adding a concessions area. Administrators are also looking into better ways to display student accomplishments in that area.

The school board approved J & J Schlaegel Inc. to perform site work for an additional parking lot behind the baseball field, which will become a future bus parking area. The estimated cost is $11,890.86.

In other action, the board:

•Approved setting fiscal year 2017 temporary appropriations in an amount of 50 percent of fiscal year 2016 final appropriations until information is available to complete the financial plan.

•Accepted donations of $30 from Shelley Eades for the eighth grade Washington, D.C. trip and $10,000 from the Mechanicsburg PTO to the technology department.

•Approved Superior Painting & Restoration to perform repainting services in the main gym and the multipurpose room for $18,200.

•Approved Property, Fleet and Liability Insurance, effective July 1, 2016 to July 1, 2017, with Ohio School Plan for $38,283.

•Authorized the purchase of competitive retail electric service from the lowest responsible bid submitted to Southwestern Ohio Educational Purchasing Council for the period commencing June 2017 and terminating no later than May 2020.

•Accepted the resignation of Karen Hayden for retirement.

•Approved hiring Junior Class Advisors (50 percent) Jill Snyder and Dawn Kent for the Class of 2018; Majorette Advisor Dawn Kent; High School Varsity Basketball Head Coach Tyler Craig; Band Director Brad Oyer; Assistant Marching Band Director and Pep Band Director Nichole Lookabaugh; Extra teaching period/day for Scott Wasserman; Fall Cheer (Football) Head Coach Kim Poland; Winter Cheer (Basketball) Head Coach Dawn Kent; Boys Bowling Head Coach Matt Mayberry; Girls Bowling Head Coach Dave Bush; High School Cross Country Head Coach Jennifer Dietrich; High School Girls Basketball Head Coach Christie Dodane; High School Wrestling Head Coach Cameron Doggett; High School Volleyball Head Coach Kassie Coffman; Girls Golf Head Coach Kelly Weber; Boys Golf Head Coach Todd Trainer; Girls Soccer Head Coach Matt Frost; Spring Weight Room Supervisor (2015-16 school year) and High School Varsity Football Head Coach Kurt Forrest.

•Approved Scott Marsh’s advancement on the salary schedule to Master +15.

•Approved Kevin Neer for 35 extended days, not including the Fifth Quarter Grant extended days).

By Casey S. Elliott

[email protected]

Casey S. Elliott may be reached at 937-652-1331 ext. 1772 or on Twitter @UDCElliott.

Casey S. Elliott may be reached at 937-652-1331 ext. 1772 or on Twitter @UDCElliott.