UU spring football practice begins on March 27


Submitted story



Urbana University head football coach Tyler Haines has announced that the upcoming spring practice schedule will begin on March 27.

Coming off a second straight 5-6 season, UU will hold 15 practices including the annual spring game at Urbana University Stadium. All sessions are free and open to the public with midweek practice going 3 to 6 p.m. and Saturday practices are slated for 9 a.m. to noon.

The 2019 spring football game concludes the spring slate on Saturday, April 27 with a 7 p.m. start time.

Here are the 2019 UU football spring practice dates: Wednesday, March 27; Friday, March 29; Monday, April 1; Wednesday, April 3; Friday, April 5; Saturday, April 6; Monday, April 8; Wednesday, April 10; Friday, April 12; Saturday, April 13; Monday, April 15; Wednesday, April 17; Monday, April 22 and Wednesday, April 24.

Jacobs earns honor

Urbana University senior Malik Jacobs has been named to the 2018-19 Google Cloud Academic All-District® Men’s Basketball Team. Jacobs is one of five players on the District 2 first team for NCAA Division II and will advance to the All-America ballot.

Jacobs is currently averaging 15.8 PPG and 6.4 RPG to lead the Blue Knights this season. He carries a 3.62 grade-point average as a sports management major at UU.

Selected by CoSIDA, Google Cloud Academic All-District® recognizes the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances on the court and in the classroom. The Google Cloud Academic All-America® program separately recognizes basketball honorees in four divisions — NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA.

First-team Academic All-District® honorees advance to the Google Cloud Academic All-America® ballot. First-, second- and third-team (if applicable) Academic All-America® honorees will be announced in mid-March.

Submitted story