Shady Bowl holds Sceva Memorial Night

Submitted story

Buck Purtee (pictured) won the Sceva Memorial on Saturday at Shady Bowl.

Buck Purtee (pictured) won the Sceva Memorial on Saturday at Shady Bowl.

DeGRAFF — It was “Neal Sceva Memorial Night at The Races” at Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday night. The former Urbana resident was probably the most popular driver to ever race at the Champaign County oval. Sceva won over 600 feature races in a career cut short when he lost his battle with cancer in 1985.

Matt Wilson of northern Ohio brought his Mercury Marauder to Shady Bowl several weeks ago and nearly won the feature. This week he returned and put DeGraff hotshoe Buck Purtee behind the wheel of his great looking #03. The move was a good one for Wilson, as Purtee set fast time and won the 51-lap feature. Purtee put the Outlaw Chassis sponsored car out front on lap 17 when he passed last week’s winner Rob Schaeff. Rodney Roush came all the way from the rear of the field to finish second. Schaeff held on for third, with Shawn Stansell fourth and Chad Small II fifth. Schaeff won the dash, with Jason Parsons taking heat honors. Newcomer Bailey Deloose won the Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger Award.

The 35-lap late model feature saw Bill Cantley lead the first six counters before Buddy Townsend motored by. Townsend’s time out front was short lived, as points leader and fast qualifier Don Mahaffey took over the point. Bud Perry of Edgerton challenged Mahaffey for the lead and the two former track champions battled for top spot before Mahaffey spun on lap 13. Perry, behind the wheel of Urbana’s Mike Ward car, went on to win his second feature in two starts this season. Perry also picked up the Amsoil Hard Charger award in his Fetz Plumbing and Heating backed ride. Townsend held on for second, with Mahaffey third, Caleb Reschar fourth and Larry Kemp fifth.

The modified main went to Greg Stapleton as he edged out fast qualifier Shane Shirk to post his fourth feature win of the season in his Stapleton Machine and Tool backed open wheeler. Dash winner Chris Parker was third, with Logan McPherson fourth and Mike Carroll fifth. The Stapleton brothers Jerry and Carl won heat races. Carl Stapleton won the DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award. Modified results were not official at press time.

The compact 20-lap feature was once again another victory for Medway driver Josh Foltz. Foltz in his Vapor Royals backed Neon took the lead from Damien Killen on lap seven and went on to post his 10th feature win. He also picked up the Quick Parts Hard Charger Award. Dash winner Dusty Harding was second, with Killen third, Jimmy McElfresh fourth and Cody Wynn fifth. Corey Kyer was the winner of the eight lap heat race.

Defending pure stock champion Jason Purtee of DeGraff led all 10 laps to win the feature in his L&B Auto Repair Thunderbird. John Eastman, Zach Doolin and Ryan Tamboro rounded out the field.

In spectator drag action Chad Owens edged Bob Brown for the win.

The Vintage Auto Racing Club cars were on hand also. They ran a heat race and a feature with Mike Mason taking the win.

This Saturday will be will be the final points race of the season. Champions in late models, modifieds, street stocks, compacts, super compacts, pure stocks and spectator drags will be crowned. Bob Brown, Chad Owens and Corey Plunkett will battle in their spectator drag cars to see who wins the race-ready compact. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

Buck Purtee (pictured) won the Sceva Memorial on Saturday at Shady Bowl. Purtee (pictured) won the Sceva Memorial on Saturday at Shady Bowl.

Submitted story