CRA Racing Series comes to Shady Bowl

Submitted story

DeGRAFF – One of the biggest nights of the year at Shady Bowl Speedway will take place on Saturday when the CRA Racing Series street stocks take to the Champaign County oval.

If past races are any indication, the 200-lapper will be a crowd-pleasing event. Indiana drivers Josh Poore and Colby Lane are among the 38 entries. Poore has two wins in the race (2014 and 2016) and Lane has carried the checkered once (2015).

Local drivers Ricky Young (Beavercreek), Gordon Watson Jr. (Dayton) and Josh Sage (Piqua) will be on hand to challenge the invaders.

Three former Shady Bowl track champions are also ready to try and keep the big money in Ohio – Rodney Roush (Sidney), Josh Smith (Quincy) and Buck Purtee (DeGraff). All of these drivers have enjoyed success at Shady Bowl and will make a strong effort to break the Hoosier drivers’ win streak. Sage raced at Shady Bowl during last week’s season-opener setting fast time and finishing second in the feature with Purtee third.

The modifieds, pure stocks and compacts will also be part of the racing program. Racing will start at 7 p.m.

In addition, there will be an Easter egg hunt for the youngsters. The egg hunt will begin at 6 p.m.

Submitted story