NFL needs an award named for Paul Brown

By Steve Stout - [email protected]

The NFL Network’s “A Football Life: Paul Brown” – which debuted last Friday night – was just as good as I expected it to be.

As a consultant for NFL Films on the project, a few of my ideas found their way to the screen, which was satisfying.

One subject brought up in the program has puzzled me for years – why is there no NFL award named for Paul Brown?

The AFC champion wins the Lamar Hunt Trophy.

The NFC champion wins the George Halas Trophy.

The Super Bowl champion wins the Vince Lombardi Trophy.

Where is the trophy named for Paul Brown, who most consider to be the father of the modern professional game?

A good idea might be for the NFL Coach of the Year Award to be named after PB.

All of his innovations aside, any coach who leads his team to 10 straight pro football championship games and wins seven of them needs to have an award named after him by the NFL.


Urban Meyer coached his 50th game for Ohio State Saturday night and has amazingly won 47 of them.

By comparison, Woody Hayes was 36-12-2 in his first 50 games at OSU – which included a national title in 1954 – and Jim Tressel was 39-11 – which included a national title in 2002.

Ara Parseghian, a coach whom Meyer is often compared to, was 40-7-3 in his first 50 games at Notre Dame, which included a national championship in 1966.

Even though Tressel left behind a lot of talented players for Meyer to inherit, a 47-3 record is one of the greatest coaching feats in college football history.


Trivia Time – Paul Brown began his coaching career at Severn High School in Maryland in 1930.

This week’s question – Who did Woody Hayes succeed as Ohio State’s football coach in 1951?

By Steve Stout

[email protected]

Reach Steve Stout at 652-1331 (ext. 1776) or on Twitter @udcstout

Reach Steve Stout at 652-1331 (ext. 1776) or on Twitter @udcstout