Mostly familiar names on Champaign County ballots

Primary election is March 15, 2016

Staff Report

Champaign County voters will see mostly familiar names on March 15, 2016, primary election ballots. Several Republican incumbent office holders had no opposition when filing for that election ended at 4 p.m. Wednesday.

The only one with opposition in the primary is Champaign County Commissioner David E. Faulkner, who will vie with Urbana City Councilman Doug Hoffman for the Republican nomination for a seat on the commission.

Republican incumbents without opposition for county positions include Commissioner Steven R. Hess, Prosecuting Attorney Kevin Talebi, Clerk of Courts Penny S. Underwood, Sheriff Matthew R. Melvin, Recorder Glenda L. Bayman, Treasurer Robin K. Edwards, Engineer Stephen Earl McCall and Coroner Dr. Joshua F. Richards.

Ballots will include county Democratic and Republican Central Committee candidates. Few have opposition. Those few are all Republicans: Donna Finkbine and Cathy Landolfo, vying for Precinct 2B; Kara Cook and Kathleen Woods, vying for Adams Township Precinct; and Dwight Paul and Sharon McCall, vying for Precinct 3B.

There are four local issues on Champaign County ballots.

Salem Township voters, exclusive of the city of Urbana, will consider a 2.9-mill, five-year road levy.

The Urbana school district proposes a continuous 14.8-mill current operating expenses levy.

Voters in the Urbana North precinct have two “local options” concerning Vintage Drive Thru & Cafe, 1549 S. U.S. Route 68: One for the sale of spirituous liquor, the other for the sale of wine, mixed beverages and spirituous liquor 11 a.m.-midnight Sundays.

State Rep. Nino Vitale (R-Urbana) thus far has no opposition in his bid for another term representing Ohio’s 85th district, which includes Champaign, Logan and Shelby counties.

The Champaign County Board of Elections meets at 8:30 a.m. Friday to certify filings for these candidates and issues.

John Adams of Sidney and Matt Huffman of Lima, both former Republican state representatives, filed at the Allen County Board of Elections as candidates for 12th District state senator. The district includes Champaign and Logan counties, as well as all or parts of Mercer, Darke, Allen, Auglaize and Shelby counties.

U.S. Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Urbana) is the only Republican who filed at the Lorain County Board of Elections to continue representing Ohio’s 4th Congressional District. Democrats who filed are Daniel Johnson of Plain City, Janet Garrett of Oberlin and Norbert G. Dennerll Jr. of Elyria. The district includes Champaign and Logan counties, as well as parts or all of Allen, Auglaize, Shelby, Union, Marion, Crawford, Sandusky, Seneca, Erie, Huron and Lorain counties.

Dates of note

Write-in candidates must file by 4 p.m. Jan. 4, 2016, for the March 15, 2016, primary election.

Those wishing to run as Independents in partisan races in the Nov. 8, 2016, election must file by 4 p.m. March 14, 2016.

Polls are open 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m. March 15, 2016.

Issues for the Nov. 8, 2016, general election must be filed by 4 p.m. Aug. 15, 2016.

Write-in candidates for the Nov. 8, 2016, election must file by 4 p.m. Aug. 29, 2016.

Polls are open 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m. Nov. 8, 2016.

Primary election is March 15, 2016

Staff Report