Graham claims 22nd straight state title


COLUMBUS – Graham won its 22nd straight – and 24th overall – Division II state wrestling title here at the Schottenstein Center on Sunday.

The Falcons had 157 points and Columbus DeSales was second with 120.5.

Graham’s Brogan Tucker (132 pounds) and Gunner Cramblett (165) each claimed individual state titles.

In the finals, Tucker defeated Donovan Paes of Streetsboro, 7-5, and Cramblett defeated Oliver Byerly of Jonathan Alder, 5-4. Tucker won the state title at 113 last year.

Also in the finals on Sunday, Graham’s Hayden Hughes (138) placed second after losing to David McClelland of DeSales, 5-0, and Graham’s Eli Jacks placed second after losing to Dominic Hoffarth of Louisville, 6-1.

In addition for the Falcons, Colt Ryan placed third at 120, Bryce Kohler was third at 144 and Luke James was third at 158.

In their third-place matches, Ryan defeated Larry Moreno of Wauseon, 5-2; Kohler pinned Nathan Kulbe of Batavia in 2:20 and James defeated Owen Eagan of DeSales, 9-4.

Graham’s Jake Landis placed eighth at 106.

In his seventh-place match, Landis lost to Zavian LaFountain of Wauseon, 2-0.

For Mechanicsburg in Division III, Ronnie Thomas placed fourth at 190 and Zane Hitchcock was fifth at 215.

In his third-place match, Thomas lost to Abe DeLano of Ayersville, 6-4.

In his fifth-place match, Hitchcock defeated Gavin Gillig of Liberty-Benton, 7-5 SV.

The Indians finished tied for 16th in the team standings with 27 points.

No posts to display