Romero, Hartley, Forrest sweep district football honors

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The 2016 Associated Press All-Southwest District football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district, were released on Wednesday.

A trio of Mechanicsburg Indians swept the Division VI honors. Kaleb Romero was named the offensive player of the year for the second consecutive season and Dylan Hartley was named defensive player of the year for the second consecutive season. MHS Coach Kurt Forrest earned coach of the year honors.

Also on the offensive First Team in Division VI were Dylan Hartman (MHS) and Trevor Burden (West Liberty-Salem).

The offensive Second Team featured Alex Rhine (MHS), Alex Walton (MHS) and Brandon Wolfe (WL-S).

The defensive Second Team featured Adam Schultz (WL-S), Trent Schmucker (WL-S), Cannon Propst (MHS) and Tyler Wetzel (MHS).

In Division IV, Urbana’s Dillon Hasford and Bailey Ullah earned honorable mention. Graham’s Gage Braun and Austin Brayton joined them as honorable mention.

Staff report