Two local elected representatives are seeking to engage young constituents in the political process.

State Representative Nino Vitale (R-Urbana) has announced a “Win a Laptop Contest” in the seven counties of his district. Information from Vitale’s campaign said this is an “effort to draw more attention to policy and issues.”

U.S. Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Urbana) is seeking students who would like to serve as congressional interns.

Vitale has picked four topics about which students will write 300-word-per-question essays. Students will submit the essays to various “expert judges” around the state of Ohio. The contest is open to all 16-, 17- and 18-year-olds (age in April 2016) who reside in Allen, Auglaize, Champaign, Darke, Logan, Mercer and Shelby counties. The four topics include Labor, Life, Religious Liberty and Gun Rights and there will be one laptop winner per county. Seven laptops will be given away. The brand and type of laptop was not detailed in Vitale’s announcement.

The contest runs now until April 30. Anyone interested in participating can go to and click on the “Win a Free Laptop” button at the top center of the page for details.

“The support by judges and others in the community has already been overwhelming. We need to focus on issues that affect all Ohioans and it’s exciting to engage our younger citizens as they approach voting age,” Vitale said. “I look forward to rewarding our younger folks who take the time to participate in making Ohio a better place.”

Become an intern

Jordan’s office is accepting applications from area college students interested in interning in his Lima district office.

Applicants should either be residents of or attend school in the Fourth Congressional District, which includes Allen, Auglaize, Champaign, Crawford, Logan, Sandusky, Seneca, Shelby, Union Counties and parts of Erie, Huron, Lorain, Marion and Mercer Counties.

Additional information and application forms may be requested by calling Jordan’s Lima (419-999-6455) office.


Staff Report

Information provided by local elected representatives.