SPRINGFIELD – Four former Clark State Community College Board of Trustees members designated as Trustee Emeriti were honored at the college’s Charter Night on Feb. 16. The honorees include Than Johnson of Urbana, as well as Cathy Balas, Alicia Sweet Hupp and Fred Leventhal.

“The former trustees selected as Emeriti have demonstrated dedicated service to Clark State and its students,” said Clark State President Dr. Jo Alice Blondin. “Not only are they deserving of this honor, but they are true servant-leaders in their communities.”

Johnson was on the Clark State Board of Trustees from 1991 to 2008. During his tenure, Clark State extended full community college access to residents in Greene County through the establishment and purchase of the Greene Center.

“Clark State is an access institution for students wanting to obtain a degree,” he said. “Our local communities benefit so much from having Clark State Community College in its midst.”

It was noted that Clark State Board of Trustees provided the pass-through function for state capital construction grants ($1.8 million) for the Champaign Family YMCA.

Submitted story

Story submitted on behalf of Clark State Community College and Than Johnson.