Mahaffey wins at Shady Bowl

Submitted story

Don Mahaffey, Jr., of Dayton, won his fourth event of the season at Shady Bowl by capturing the “Waco” Wayne Watercutter tribute on Saturday.

DeGRAFF – Shady Bowl Speedway fans were treated to a night of racing Saturday that featured some of the closest action of the season. The track also paid tribute to Sidney resident “Waco” Wayne Watercutter. Watercutter and his wife Gloria were both in attendance. Wayne had success nearly everywhere he raced. He ventured out to the ARCA and NASCAR series and raced across the country. Wayne hung up his helmet five years ago and now helps younger drivers get started.

The 40-lap ‘Waco” Wayne Watercutter tribute race was the first event of the evening. Columbus driver Buddy Townsend paced the field the first four laps before giving way to Don Mahaffey, Jr. of Dayton. Mahaffey continued his torrid pace started earlier in evening, as he was fast qualifier. The former track champion went on to claim the win for the fourth time this season. Buddy Townsend was second, with Rich Gleason, Brian Fries and Jesse Gade following. Mahaffey also powered his Quick Parts sponsored stocker to the Amsoil Hard Charger Award.

The 30-lap modified main turned out to be one of the best of the season. Three-time feature winner Brad Yelton paced the field the first 16 laps, looking like win number four was just ahead. Mike Carroll, Scott Drake, Shane Shirk and fast qualifier Greg Stapleton were in a real battle to see who was first to get to the front to challenge Yelton.

Fast qualifier Greg Stapleton and Shirk had a spirited race going before Stapleton took over the spot. After taking the lead, Stapleton left the field behind in his Stapleton Tool and Machine backed ride. Once the Troy driver cleared the pack it was all his to win or lose. Carroll, Yelton, Drake and Shirk rounded out the top five. The win was the second of the season for Stapleton as he also won the DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger Award. Drake won the dash with Carl Stapleton and Chris Parker taking heat checkereds.

The 25-lap street stock feature was a crowd pleaser all the way. Jim Lewis, Jr., Jacob Muncy and fast qualifier Josh Sage had the fans on their feet as the trio battled for the lead. Sage and Lewis battled side by side for nearly all 25 laps with Muncy just behind and looking for running room. When the dust had settled, Piqua’s Sage was smiling for photos in victory lane. Muncy was able to pass Lewis to claim second spot with Lewis third. Alizza Snapp turned in a strong effort to finish fourth, with Chad Small II fifth. It was a clean sweep for Sage in his Wyant and Silver sponsored Chevy, as he also won the dash and the Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger Award.

The 20-lap compact feature saw Jimmy McElfresh jump out front at the drop of the green flag. McElfresh led until lap nine, when Medway’s Josh Foltz sped by. Foltz went on to post win number eight in his Vapor Royals Neon. McElfresh was able to finish second with Mike Wintrow, Dusty Harding and Damien Killen rounding out the top five. Foltz also racked up the dash win and the Quick Parts Hard Charger Award. Wintrow was the heat winner.

The 10-lap pure stock feature saw three cars coming to the checkered, but only one crossed the finish line. John Eastman looked to have the feature locked as he led the first nine laps. Coming to the checkered, Eastman spun taking fast qualifier Ryan Tamburro with him. Zach Doolin was the only car that crossed the finish line. The New Carlisle driver picked up his eighth win in his Wholesale Auto Parts Cutlass. Tamburro was second with Eastman third.

The spectator drag was won by Chad Owens over Corey Plunkett.

This Saturday night will be the Bill “Pappy” Lewis Memorial race. It will be a 50-lap Modified feature with $1,500 to win. Late Models, Pure Stocks, Compacts and Spectator Drags will also be on hand. It will also be Kids Night with Big Wheel races, Penny Scramble and Free Book Bags (while supplies last). If you want to donate items or cash for the book bags stop by the speedway or bring them to the tower. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

Don Mahaffey, Jr., of Dayton, won his fourth event of the season at Shady Bowl by capturing the “Waco” Wayne Watercutter tribute on Saturday. Mahaffey, Jr., of Dayton, won his fourth event of the season at Shady Bowl by capturing the “Waco” Wayne Watercutter tribute on Saturday.

Submitted story


10:41 pm
Updated: 12:12 pm. |    
Window to God
10:38 pm |    
Pets of the Week