Saunders headlines Blue Knight football MEC awards

Submitted story

BRIDGEPORT, W. Va. – Urbana University wide receiver Trevon Saunders leads the list of Blue Knights recognized for Mountain East Conference postseason football awards, announced Tuesday afternoon by the league.

Saunders, a junior from Columbus, Ohio, is an All-MEC Second Team selection after posting 66 receptions for 961 yards and 15 touchdowns (all career highs). He set a school record and led the MEC in total touchdowns, while finishing sixth in the nation for receiving TDs.

In addition, Saunders scored the most receiving TDs (four vs. Cincinnati Christian on Oct. 8) and had the most all-purpose yards (312 at Fairmont State on Oct. 1) by any MEC player in a game this season. He also set a school record with 232 receiving yards in the Cincinnati Christian game.

It’s the second all-conference award for Saunders after he was selected honorable mention in 2015.

Three Blue Knights were also named All-MEC Honorable Mention for their efforts in 2016, including junior linebacker Josh Dillard, senior linebacker Carlton Rematt and senior offensive lineman Andrew Garland.

Dillard, a junior from New London, Ohio, earned his first career postseason award with career highs in tackles (88), tackles-for-loss (10.5), sacks (2.0), forced fumbles (three) and interceptions (three). He finished fifth among MEC leaders in tackles and 28th in the nation for solo tackles (56).

Rematt, a senior from Cleveland, Ohio, also earned his first postseason award at linebacker. He led the Blue Knights with a career-high 110 tackles and finished third in the conference while averaging 10 defensive stops per game. Rematt wrapped up the season averaging the 13th-most solo tackles per game with 6.2.

Garland, a senior from Cario, Ohio, garnered his second all-conference honor with his second straight appearance on the honorable-mention squad. A durable force up front, Garland started every game the past three years (33). He helped the Blue Knight offense improve its production this year playing primarily at left tackle.

The all-conference teams and individual award winners are selected by a vote of the league’s coaches.

Submitted story